James Corden hosted the 59th annual Grammy Awards live on in the US from the Staples Center in Los Angeles on Sunday.

The evening itself was full of tributes to Musicians who have passed away in the past 12 months as well breath-taking performances from Beyoncé, Ed Sheeran and Bruno Mars.

Adele was crowned the big winner of the evening as she walked away with five Grammy Awards, with four of the Awards coming from the biggest categories of the night: ‘Song of the Year‘, ‘Record of the Year‘ and ‘Album of the Year‘.

After winning ‘Record of the Year‘, Adele took to the stage and dedicated her award to Beyoncé with the following speech: “I can’t possibly accept this award I’m very humbled and grateful and gracious, but my artist of my life is Beyoncé. The Lemonade album was just so monumental, Beyoncé. It was so monumental and well thought-out and beautiful and soul-bearing… we all got to see another side to you that you don’t always let us see, and we appreciate that. All of us artists here f**king adore you. You are our light, and the way you make me and my friends feel, the way you make my black friends feel is empowering, and you make them stand up for themselves. I love you, I always have and I always will.

One of the performances came from Adele who paid tribute to George Michael who sadly passed away on Christmas Day last year. James Corden introduced the star who took to the stage but very quickly stopped the performance. “I’m sorry I can’t do it again like last year… I’m sorry for swearing and I am sorry for starting again… but can we please start again… I can’t mess this up for him.” said Adele, who was seemingly unhappy with her vocals. Ever the professional, she managed to restart George‘s track ‘Fast Love‘ and was visibly emotional at the end of the performance as the audience gave a standing ovation.

The complete list of winners from the 2017 Grammys are as follows:

Album Of The Year

WINNER: Adele – 25
Beyonce – Lemonade
Justin Bieber – Purpose
Drake – Views
Sturgill Simpson – A Sailor’s Guide To Earth

Record Of The Year

WINNER: Adele – Hello
Beyonce – Formation
Lukas Graham – 7 Years
Rihanna ft Drake – Work
Twenty One Pilots – Stressed Out

Song Of The Year

WINNER: Adele – Hello
Beyonce – Formation
Justin Bieber – Love Yourself
Lukas Graham – 7 Years
Mike Posner – I Took A Pill In Ibiza

Best New Artist

WINNER: Chance The Rapper
Kelsea Ballerini
The Chainsmokers
Maren Morris
Anderson .Paak

Best Alternative Album

WINNER: David Bowie – Blackstar
PJ Harvey – The Hope Six Demolition Project
Bon Iver – 22, A Million
Iggy Pop – Post Pop Depression
Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool

Best Pop Album

WINNER: Adele – 25
Justin Bieber – Purpose
Ariana Grande – Dangerous Woman
Demi Lovato – Confident
Sia – This Is Acting

Best Rap album

WINNER: Chance The Rapper – Coloring Book
De La Soul – And The Anonymous Nobody
DJ Khaled – Major Key
Drake – Views
Schoolboy Q – Blank Face LP
Kanye West – The Life Of Pablo

Best Pop Solo Performance:

WINNER: Hello – Adele
Hold Up – Beyonce
Love Yourself – Justin Bieber
Piece By Piece (Idol Version) – Kelly Clarkson
Dangerous Woman – Ariana Grande

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance:

WINNER: Stressed Out – Twenty One Pilots
Closer – The Chainsmokers Featuring Halsey
7 Years – Lukas Graham
Work – Rihanna Featuring Drake
Cheap Thrills – Sia Featuring Sean Paul

Best Dance Recording:

WINNER: Don’t Let Me Down – The Chainsmokers Featuring Daya
Tearing Me Up – Bob Moses
Never Be Like You – Flume Featuring Kai
Rinse & Repeat – Riton Featuring Kah-Lo
Drinkee – Sofi Tukker

Best Dance/Electronic Album:

WINNER: Skin – Flume
Electronica 1: The Time Machine – Jean-Michel Jarre
Epoch – Tycho
Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future – Underworld
Louie Vega Starring…XXVIII – Louie Vega

Best Rock Performance:

WINNER: Blackstar- David Bowie
Joe (Live From Austin City Limits) – Alabama Shakes
Don’t Hurt Yourself- Beyonce Featuring Jack White
The Sound Of Silence – Disturbed
Heathens – Twenty One Pilots

Best Metal Performance:

WINNER: Dystopia – Megadeth
Shock Me – Baroness
Slivera -Gojira
Rotting in Vain- Korn
The Price Is Wrong – Periphery

Best Rock Song:

WINNER: Blackstar – David Bowie
Burn the Witch – Radiohead
Hardwired – James Hetfield & Lars Ulrich
Heathens – Tyler Joseph, songwriter
My Name Is Human – Rich Meyer, Ryan Meyer & Johnny Stevens

Best Rock Album:

WINNER: Tell Me I’m Pretty – Cage The Elephant
California – Blink-182
Magma – Gojira
Death Of A Bachelor – Panic! At The Disco
Weezer – Weezer

Best Alternative Music Album:

WINNER: Blackstar – David Bowie
22, A Million – Bon Iver
The Hope Six Demolition Project – PJ Harvey
Post Pop Depression – Iggy Pop
A Moon Shaped Pool – Radiohead

Best R&B Performance:

WINNER: Cranes in the Sky – Solange
Turnin’ Me Up – BJ The Chicago Kid
Permission – Ro James
I Do – Musiq Soulchild
Needed Me – Rihanna

Best Urban Contemporary Album:

WINNER: Lemonade – Beyonce
Ology – Gallant
We Are King – KING
Malibu – Anderson .Paak
Anti – Rihanna

Best Rap Performance:

WINNER: No Problem – Chance The Rapper Featuring Lil Wayne & 2 Chainz
Panda – Desiigner
Pop Style – Drake Featuring The Throne
All The Way Up – Fat Joe & Remy Ma Featuring French Montana & Infared
That Part – Schoolboy Q Featuring Kanye West

Best Rap/Sung Performance:

WINNER: Hotline Bling – Drake
Freedom – Beyonce Featuring Kendrick Lamar
Broccoli – D.R.A.M. Featuring Lil Yachty
Ultralight Beam – Kanye West Featuring Chance The Rapper, Kelly Price, Kirk Franklin & The-Dream
Famous – Kanye West Featuring Rihanna

Best Country Album:
WINNER: A Sailor’s Guide To Earth – Sturgill Simpson
Big Day In A Small Town – Brandy Clark
Full Circle – Loretta Lynn
Hero – Maren Morris
Ripcord – Keith Urban

Best Musical Theatre Album:

WINNER: The Color Purple
Bright Star
Kinky Boots

Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media:

WINNER: Miles Ahead – Miles Davis & Various Artists
Amy – Various Artists
Straight Outta Compton Various Artists
Suicide Squad (Collector’s Edition) – Various Artists
Vinyl: The Essentials Season 1 – Various Artists

Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media:

WINNER: Star Wars: The Force Awakens – John Williams, composer
Bridge of Spies – Thomas Newman, composer
Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone, composer
The Revenant – Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto, composers
Stranger Things Volume 1 – Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein, composers
Stranger Things Volume 2 – Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein, composers

Best Song Written For Visual Media:

WINNER: Can’t Stop The Feeling! – Justin Timberlake
Heathens – Twenty One Pilots
Just Like Fire – P!nk
Purple Lamborghini – Skrillex & Rick Ross
Try Everything – Shakira
The Veil – Peter Gabriel

Best Producer:

WINNER: Greg Kurstin
Benny Blanco
Max Martin
Ricky Reed

Best Music Video:

WINNER: Formation – Beyonce
River – Leon Bridges
Up & Up – Coldplay
Gosh – Jamie xx
Upside Down & Inside Out – OK Go

Best Music Film:

WINNER: The Beatles: Eight Days A Week The Touring Years
I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead – Steve Aoki
Lemonade – Beyonce
The Music Of Strangers – Yo-Yo Ma & The Silk Road Ensemble
American Saturday Night: Live From The Grand Ole Opry – Various Artists


Leave a reply